I’m an artist and I’m sensitive bout my Sh*t

26 Apr

Still working on a title for the poem but here goes…

I no longer get butterflies in my stomach when I talk to him, but now it’s a tugging of my heart, a blaring reminder of where we were and how far we strayed.

I no longer get goosebumps when he says my name, but my ears do perk up as those syllables roll off his tongue aimed in my direction. I no longer hold my breath when we embrace but I do hug him tighter, almost as if to get his scent to overwhelm me, to intoxicate me.

My reactions to him aren’t the same, but as long as my body reacts to his, and our interactions still produce a spark, I’m not complaining. And as long as I’m still desiring to feel something I once felt, it wouldn’t matter if it was a replica or an imitation as long as I can feel us.

2 Responses to “I’m an artist and I’m sensitive bout my Sh*t”

  1. Jasmine April 30, 2013 at 12:28 am #

    So very well written. People think they have fallen out of love when they no longer have all the butterflies and rushes. It gets even harder when they start to face problems. In my experience the feeling you get after making up and knowing your partner truly loves you through anything is better than the initial “I just got shot by Cupid feeling.”

    • naturallyashh April 30, 2013 at 12:31 am #

      YES! and im so very glad that you got that out of my work. that is my point not everything worth having is easy

Leave a comment